Midwest Archives Conference Records, 1972-2020


The Midwest Archives Conference (MAC) was organized at a June 1972 meeting attended by 111 interested professionals. Since its founding the organization has grown into one of the largest regional archival associations in the country. Members include archivists, manuscript curators, librarians, records managers, historians, and allied professionals working in historical societies; local, state, and federal archives; college and university archives; religious archives; health science archives; and corporate archives. The MAC region covers thirteen states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

MAC holds an annual meeting in spring and a symposium in the fall in cities throughout the region. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter and a professional journal.

MAC Presidents

1972-1975 Archie Motley
1975-1977 Jacqueline (Mrs. Philip S.) Haring
1977-1979 Mary Ann Bamberger
1979-1981 Nicholas Burckel
1981-1983 Patrick Quinn
1983-1985 James Fogerty
1985-1987 Mary Janzen
1987-1989 William Maher
1989-1991 Nancy Lankford
1991-1993 Valerie Gerrard Browne
1993-1995 J. Frank Cook
1995-1997 Mark Greene
1997-1999 Pat Michaelis
1999-2001 Frank Boles
2001-2003 Cheri Thies
2003-2005 Steve McShane
2005-2007 Elisabeth Wittman
2007-2009 Dennis Meissner
2009-2011 Tanya Zanish-Belcher
2011-2013 Ellen Swain
2013-2015 Amy Cooper Cary
2015-2017 Jennifer Johnson

For more information, please visit the Midwest Archives Conference Web site at: www.midwestarchives.org.