Historic places and people in the land of milk and honey: Wisconsin's treasure: a tribute to our past, a celebration of the present and our commitment to continue the good life
[Sunnyside farm], p. 16 PDF (374.5 KB)
Benjamin and Joanna Hoyt, brother and sister, came from Vermont in 1835 so that they would be here to claim farmland that would be available in 1836. They first claimed land in the community of Honey Creek, township of Rochester and together with his sons Gilman and Avery owned land about one half mile west of Honey Creek in Walworth County. Avery eventually became owner of four hundred and four- teen acres from Bell School Road on the east and Colbo Road to the west. This farm was known as Sunnyside Farm and a real showcase farm in Walworth County. The farm of four hundred fourteen acres was divided up with Nathan Schmitters, Orlie Miller and Charles Palmer getting land from the farm. The original buildings and what was left, some one hundred twenty acres, was purchased by Barnis Rose. George Aspinall and later on his son, Allen, ran the farm for many years having a very fine herd of Registered Holsteins under the name of the original Sunnyside Farm. The house and some acreage is now owned and very well kept by Carlice and Henry Czarnecki. Wendell E. Earle
This material may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, US Code). Original material owned by Waterford Public Library. For information on re-use, contact the Library through the Reference Department, Waterford Public Library, 101 N. River Street, Waterford, Wisconsin 53185, 262-534-3988, (firstname.lastname@example.org).