University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Ohm, Howard F.; Bryhan, Leone G. (ed.) / The Wisconsin Blue Book

Members of the legislature,   pp. [23]-70 PDF (2.6 MB)

Page 45

      FITZSIMONS               HINZ            GOLDTHORPE
    Fond du Lac, 1st     Fond du Lac, 2nd         Grant, 1st
  MAURICE FITZSIMONS, JR. (Dem.) of Fond du Lac was born Septem-
ber 30, 1906, and has always lived in the city of his birth. He was
educated in the public schools of Fond du Lac and attended Marquette
University. Since 1923 he has been affiliated with M. Fitzsimons and
Sons Shoe Company. In 1927 he became the owner and operator of the
Fitzsimons Fur Farm. Mr. Fitzsimons has been a member of the assem-
bly since 1933. Home Address: Box 126, Fond du Lac.
  Fond du Lac County, first district: Towns of Calumet, Empire, Fond
(Iu Lac, and Taycheedah; city of Fond do Lac.
  ARTHUR F. HINZ (Rep.) was born on a farm near Ripon on March 28,
1886. He attended country school and Ripon High School. In 1906 he
was graduated from the College of Agriculture of the University of
Wisconsin. Mr. Hinz has owned and operated a farm for twenty-five
years; has been manager and also secretary-treasurer of the Badger
Farmer Company; was an organizer and secretary of the Fond du Lac
County Guernsey Association for many years; and at present is secretary-
treasurer of the Ripon Packing Company. He served as town assessor
during 1920-21 and as a member of the Ripon Hospital Commission. He
has been president of the park commission for the past eight years and
a member of the city council since 1926. This is his second term in the
assembly. Home Address: 229 Scott Street, Ripon.
  Fond do Lac County, second district: Towns of Alto, Ashford, Auburn,
Byron, Eden, Eldorado, Forest, Friendship, Lamartine, Marshfield,
Metomen, Oakfield, Osceola, Ripon, Rosendale, Springvale, and Waupun;
villages of Brandon, Campbellsport, Eden, Fairwater, North Fond du
Lac, Oakfield, Rosendale, and St. Cloud; city of Ripon and fifth and
sixth wards of Waupun.
  WILLIAM H. GOLDTHORPE (Rep.) was born at Cobb on September
25, 1880. He was graduated from Platteville State Normal School in
1900. In 1899 Mr. Goldthorpe organized the Platteville Normal School
Band which was the first normal school band in Wisconsin. His interest
along musical lines continued and in addition to conducting bands in
his home city and the surrounding towns, he organized the Wisconsin
Press Association Band in 1926 which was the first of its kind in the
United States. Since 1903 he has been a newspaper publisher at Cuba
City. He has also been postmaster of that city for the last twelve years.
Mr. Goldthorpe was elected to the assembly in April 1935 to fill a
vacancy, and was reelected in 1936 and 1938. Home Address: Cuba City.
  Grant County, first district: Towns of Beetown, Cassville, Clifton.
Ellenboro, Glen Haven, Harrison, Hazel Green, Jamestown, Lima, Paris,
Platteville, Potosi, Smelser, and Waterloo; villages of Cassville, Hazel
Green, Livingston, and Potosi; cities of Platteville, and Cuba City.

Go up to Top of Page