University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Stratford centennial

Stratford churches,   pp. 83-91

Page 83

Stratford Churches
Community Bible Church
A large part of the Presbyterian church congregation
withdrew in the spring of 1935, and under the leadership of
the Rev. Frederick H. Giles they organized the Community
Bible church.
During the summer months, services were held in the
auditorium of the Connor building.
In 1935 the Evangelical church building at Staadt was
purchased and moved to the location on highway 97.
Under the energetic leadership of the Rev. F.H. Giles, the
congregation grew rapidly. He served here until 1953, when
he was followed by the Rev. George R. Dunivent. Rev.
Dunivent served until December of 1963. Rev. Roger Insley
came in April of 1964 followed by Pastor Andy McAdams in
October of 1973. Pastor McAdams served the congregation
until November of 1976. Rev. Edward Riddrick came to
Stratford in January of 1977 and served the Stratford Commu-
nity Bible Church until January of 1983. Rev. Kenneth
Chadbourn came to serve the church in April of 1983 and was
in Stratford until October 1990. It was during Pastor
Chadbourn's service in Stratford that the congregation built
their new church on highway 97 south.
The present pastor is Rev. Jeffrey Schwieger who came
in December of 1990. Church Elders are Lyle Hoffman,
Norbert Young and Daniel Hibbs. Church Deacons are John
Brubacher, Arthur Young and Brian Krause. The present
secretary is Edna Young and the present treasurer is Blanche
Anderson. The church has a membership of 130.

Go up to Top of Page