University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Brink, Walter; White, Tim R.; White, Karen L.; Goebler, Jennifer; Sies, Kathy; Bigler, Brian (ed.) / The history of the Town of Mount Vernon : sesquicentennial celebration, 1846-1996

The sesquicentennial anniversary committees,   p. [2] PDF (335.1 KB)

Page [2]

The 1996 Mt. Vernon Sesquicentennial Celebration promises to be a memorable event.
Many community residents have volunteered their time to organize all of the events that
will take place in Mt. Vernon on the weekend of October 4th, 5th and 6th. Ben Goebler is
the chairman of the celebration, with Guy Austin, co-chairman; Len Marty, treasurer and
Kathy Sies, secretary. Sweatshits, T-shirts, caps and buttons were designed by David
Trainor, and are being sold by Vi Ryan. This 150 year historical book was put together with
the combined efforts of Walter and Ruth Brink, Tim and Karen White, Jennifer Goebler,
Kathy Sies and Brian Bigler. Many residents of Mt. Vernon contributed articles and pho-
tographs for the project. Harland and Nona Erfurth are the parade chairpersons, and
Audrey Marty and Julie Stapelmann are in charge of the kid's parade. Darleen Goebler,
Rick Skindrud and Craig Judd are in charge of entertainment. Bill Ryan, Ed Sies and Herb
Bircher will be the park superintendents, and Gerald Trainor will supervise parking.
Florence Buetler and Doug and Gail Dahlk will arrange the Zwingli church activities, and
Joleen Elsing is the artist preparing posters and float decorations. Earl Garfoot and Karl
Hacker, Primrose and Springdale township supervisors, are arranging for the permits and
insurance needed for all of the weekend events, and Ray Gilden, Jerry Lehnherr, Craig
Judd, and Pete Way are recruiting members of their clubs to help out.
Top row: Leonard & Audrey Marty, Guy Austin, Nona & Harland Erfurth.
Middle row: Tim & Karen White, Walter Brink, Gail & Doug Dahlk.
Front row: Ray & Debbie Gilden, Ed & Kathy Sies, Craig Judd, Jerry
Lehnherr, Rick Skindrud, Joleen Elsing, Darleen & Ben Goebler, Jennifer
Goebler. Absent from photo: Vi & Bill Ryan, Karl Hacker, Earl Garfoot.
-Courtesy of Christine Hynek.

Go up to Top of Page