University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Bingham, Helen M. (Helen Maria) / History of Green County, Wisconsin

Brooklyn,   pp. [241]-246 PDF (1.1 MB)

Page 245

History of Green County.                245, 
eighty-two.    J. W. Haseltine acted as clerk of the, 
meeting and made the first returns to the county. The 
county clerk hesitated about receiving the returns be- 
cause the clerk elected for the year had' not brought 
them, but finally took them because they were "in better 
shape than those from     half the towns."     At a town 
meeting held at Attica, April 7, I874, it was found that 
twenty-three men were present who had voted at the 
first meeting twenty-five years before. By order of the 
meeting the clerk recorded their names as follows: 
Davis Fenton.                Cyrus A. Montgomery. 
Jonathan Smith.              0. P. Stowell. 
*William Kirkpatrick.         Otis Thompson. 
C. D. W. Leonard.           *W. W. McLaughlin. 
Franklin Patterson.          J.F. Eguleston. 
N. J. Patterson.            *Sylvester Gray. 
Alonzo Purington.            Joel Smith. 
*Powell Shell.                J. W. Haseltine. 
David Heathman.              Jeremiah Anderson. 
John Pace, Sen.              Win. R. Smith, Jun. 
D. N. Shaw.                  Chas. S. Gray. 
Ezra Doolittle. 
Names.         No. of Acres.  Names.   s   No. of Acres. 
Jerry Anderson,   - I6o    Stephen Lewis, -  - i6o 
A. Bennett, -   -   220    T. Lewis,   -        16o 
John Dalrymple,   - 350    A. Melvin,    -      353 
Peter Derimer,  -   280    Jas. McCoy,       - 280 
Ezra Doolittle -  - 200    John McClairinon,    i6o 
J. F. Eggleston,  -  254   W.W. McLaughlin est. 238 
Win. Gill,        - 179    Thos. 0. Patrick Nevil, 16o 
J. W. Haseltine  -   261   John Pace,    -   - i6o 
Geo. Hollerbush,  - 240    Frank Patterson, -   220 
Daniel Johnson,     318    J. N. Patterson,  - ISo 
S. D. Kirkpatrick,  - 279  Alonzo Purington,   200 
Win. Layton,    -   219    James Root,   -   - 16o 
Win. Lee, -          182   A. J. Sawin, -  -    16o 
C. D. W. Leonard,   220    E. C. Smith,  -   - i6o 
*Messrs. Shell, S. Gray, Kirkpatrick, and McLaughlin have since died. 

Go up to Top of Page