University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Colby, Wisconsin centennial

Sketches of pioneers,   pp. 18-127

Page 112

Clark County Historical Society, on July 21, 1968, during Col-
by Cheese Days, erected and dedicated a Wisconsin Historical
marker in the Colby city park to commemorate the discovery
of the world-famous Colby cheese. The marker was approved
by the Wisconsin Historical Marker Association and the Wis-
consin Historical Society.
Jess W. Scott, Neillsville, president of the Clark County His-
torical Society, served as master of ceremonies; Dr.  Frank
Weix, Mayor of Colby, delivered the address of welcome; Mrs.
Pearl Vorland, an incorporator of the Clark County Historical
Society and in 1968, vice president of the society, read the
text of the marker over the microphone to the assembled
crowd, as Jim Vorland and Randy Kilty unveiled the drapery
from the marker. Congressman Melvin Laird came from Wash-
ington D. C., to deliver the dedication address.
The marker is a very popular site for tourists.
(Photographed on the farm of Elsie and John Jr. Bremer)
A hundred years ago today a wilderness was here,
A man with powder in his gun went forth to hunt a deer.
But now the times have changed somewhat -
are on a different plan -
A Dear, with powder on her nose,
goes forth to hunt a man!
Do You Remember...
GORMAN CODY, the one man city employment force--
Street and Weed commissioner, Sewer and Water dept. mana-
ger and City Cop (first motorcycle cop in this area). Mr. Cody
was on the job 24 hours a day.
Remember when Henry Forbisch found a speciman
of float copper on his farm, in the town of Hull. 40 lbs. was
exhibited at the Colby State Bank.
Charles Brinker
Jacob Cappel
Peter Kruker
Ludwig Fuhrman
Wm. Bucholz
Wm. Buss
Fred Weighman
Carl Fakes
Gustave Herrmann
Joe Apfelbeck
T. Moses
Oscar Kateman
Wm. Laabs
John Orth
Charles Meyer
Math. Burtard
Wm. Dahlke
Emil Kading
Wm. Baumgart
Albert Kobs
John Hertz
Peter Theilig
Charles Coleman
Fred Hopps
Jake Dessloch
Willard Meyer
Charles Pokallus
William Kowalk
Joseph Cammers
Chris Glenzer
Fred Hess
Joseph McNamee
F. Papenfuss
Nick Shaffer
D. Uhlig
John Rolfs
Fred Burhop
F red Strade
H. Singstock
Charles Cummings
Minor Brotherton
Pete Steinbach
Adam Fasbender
Charles Allmann
Otto Sloan
A. E. Jones
A. Pribernow
Peter Hoppen
Ole Peterson
Gustave Erdman
John Cartwright
Christ Prange
V. Dallman
Louis Fink
R. E. Baum

Go up to Top of Page