University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Colby, Wisconsin centennial

Sketches of pioneers,   pp. 18-127

Page 107

1948 when he retired. In 1946 Scoutmaster Nelsen was
awarded the National Honor and the Silver Beaver for out-
standing service to scouting.
In 1950 the troop was re-organized with the Colby Veterans
of Foreign Wars Post 2227 as sponsors. During this period
they were with the Chippewa Valley Council, White Pine Dis-
In 1960 the troop was disbanded. In 1966 the Boy Scout
troop was again re-organized with the V.F.W. Post of Colby
again sponsoring it. It was in the Rib Mountain District at that
time. Jerry Zygowicz became Scoutmaster in 1967.
The troop has won many awards including District awards
at Jamborees and First Aid Meets. In 1970 one patrol won the
best Flag Trophy at the 50th Anniversary Camporee at Camp
Phillips at Wausau. In 1972 the troop.won first place at the
Spring Camporee and the award for the best troop at Summer
Camp. This is only a few of the many outstanding achieve-
ments they have made.
In 1972 Scoutmaster Zygowicz received the Citizenship A-
ward from the V.F.W. and in 1973 he received the Outstanding
Scouter Award presented by the Ojibwa District Council.
Each year the Scouts put on a pancake supper during Boy
Scout Week. The proceeds go to boys who want to go to sum-
mer camp. The scouts operate the dunking tank at the Cheese
Days celebration each year and the money is used to buy new
The troop number is now 683 and they are with the Samo-
set Council, Ojibwa District. There are now 30 members
The highest award given to a Scout is the Eagle Award.
Eagle Awards have been presented to the following boys
throughout the years: Robert Henkel, John Frane, Raymond
Henkel, Clarence Nelsen, Claude Whitney, Carl Nelsen, Ben
Riplinger, Clarence Henkel, Ronald Nelsen, Dennis Witte,
Stewart Hunt, Myron Schulz, Richard Wiersig and Gerald Kles-
sig. In March of this year Bryon Hauser received his Eagle
Award. Bryon was the first scout to get this award in over 15
The present officers are Scoutmaster, Jerry Zygowicz; In-
stitutional Representative, Emanuel Firnstahl; Committee
Chairman, Joe Clifford; Committee Member-Advancement,
James Hauser; Committee Member-Finance, James Beyerl;
Committee Member-Transportation, Lawrence Bartnik; Comit-
tee Member-Activities, Ralph Bloom; Committee Member-
Member at Large, Michael Stieber.
The Cub Scouts began in April, 1959 with 39 members and
5 dens. Members were Tom Hilber, Gary Dums, Donald Dums,
James Johnson, James Dietrich, Steven Brown, Ronald Cook,
Richard Schuh, Richard Welchans, Mark Schjoneman, Woody
Wiedenhoeft, Thomas Brown, John Orth, Richard Strathman,
Dale Bauer, Galen Fitzel, Jerry Stewart, William Trump, Terry
Schilling, Gene Frane, Gary Frane, Richard Sullivan, David
Koch, Thomas Hess, Gene Reineking, Emery Neitzel, Joseph
Gabriel, Dean Podevels, Dan Wilde, Ron Curl, Ralph Jannene,
Richard Frome, James Vorland, Randy Tesmer, Greg Polster,
Roger Riese, Bradley Schultz, Mike Schultz, and Kenneth
Cubmaster was Dan Sullivan with Roland Hess, Alex Hilber,
Don Frane, Al Gabriel, James Koch, M.D., and Richard Wel-
chans on the planning committee. Den Mothers were Virginia
Brown, Peg Sullivan, Dorothy Schjoneman, Frances Neitzel,
and Pearl Vorland; assistants, Lucille Hilber, Cecelia Wieden-
hoeft, Martha Koch, Julie Jannene and Alice Tesmer.
The Cub Scouts, ages 8 through 11, work on planned ac-
tivities and their efforts are shown at monthly pack meetings,
giving them a chance to display their work toward achieving
the various ranks of the Cub Scout. Each year a Blue and Gold
Banquet is given, to which the families of the Scouts are in-
vited, at which time a Pinewood Derby race is held. The boys
make their own race cars.
At the present time there are 30 members (3 dens). Stan
Jarzin is Cubmaster and Rev. Kenneth Dix is Webelo Master.
Den mothers are Sue Jarzin, Dorothy Webb and LuAnn Bund-
Pee Wee Baseball has been provided to boys of the Colby
area by the City of Colby. The program has been in operation
several years for boys age 8-15 years. Russ Meyer and LaVerne
Polster were early leaders, with Colby area men, Donald Kaiser,
Richard Niemi, Wm. Frome and F. Goeltzoamong those who
have assisted in the program. The boys have been divided into
two groups, ages 8 to 11, and 12 to 15. Games have been
scheduled with similar groups from area villages and cities. "It
is a program which is tremendously popular with the boys and
is a wholesome sport which teaches good sportsmanship, team-
work and fair play."

Go up to Top of Page