Historic places and people in the land of milk and honey: Wisconsin's treasure: a tribute to our past, a celebration of the present and our commitment to continue the good life
[The Bieneman farm], p. 8 PDF (326.3 KB)
The Bieneman (German meaning bee- keeper) Farm on Bieneman Road was pur- chased from the Jakely family by George H. Bieneman in 1913. He and his wife Emilie (Meugler) Bieneman raised nine children. Anna Bieneman Cramer is still alive and well today. George H. Bieneman was Burlington's pioneer milk distributor in 1917, starting with horse and wagon and chang- ing to a truck in 1919. His two sons, George and Edward took over the business In 1927 and proudly boast they never missed a day's milk delivery even though spring flood waters flooded the road and there were times when they were snowed in, The milk route was sold to Philip Warren in 1944. In 1945, the farm was purchased by a daughter Lorretta (Bieneman) Zelenski. The Zelenski's farmed it until it was condemned under Eminent Domain for the Burlington airport, This left fifty acres along the White River with the buildings. It was then purchased by the Experimental Aircraft Association headed by Paul Poberezny, World War II transport pilot and engineering officer, for the Wisconsin National Guard. They moved to Oshkosh and sold the farm to Mr. Robert Cerwin and he in turn sold to Matt Lamb, the present owner. It is rumored this site was a landing point for the Indians and traders, being where the White River and Honey Creek meet. In 1841, it was known as "The Landing". Robert Zelenski LuJ P4
This material may be protected by copyright law (Title 17, US Code). Original material owned by Waterford Public Library. For information on re-use, contact the Library through the Reference Department, Waterford Public Library, 101 N. River Street, Waterford, Wisconsin 53185, 262-534-3988, (email@example.com).