University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

The Wisconsin Blue Book, 1923

Biographical: U. S. senators, state officers, supreme court judges, state senators, members of assembly,   pp. [597]-640 ff. PDF (15.6 MB)

Page 598

   ROBERT MARION LA FOLLETTE, senior United States Senator, has
held a public office during 31 of the last 41 years. He was born at Prim-
rose, Dane county, June 14, 1855; was graduated from the University of
Wisconsin with the class of 1879; admitted to the bar in February 1880 and
that fall was elected district attorney of Dane county and was re-elected
in 1882. In 1884 he was elected to the 49th congress and' was re-elected
1886 and 1888 but defeated in 1890. Was elected governor of Wisconsin in
1900 and re-elected in 1902 and 1904, but resigned January 1, 1906, to suc-
ceed J. V. Quarles as United States Senator and was re-elected in 1911, 1916
and 1922. His present term expires in 1929. He was elected a district dele-
gate to the national republican convention in 1896 and delegate-at-large
to the convention in 1904. He was three times a candidate for the re-
publican nomination for president.
  IRVINE LUTHER LENROOT was elected to the United States senate at
a special election, April 2, 1918, to fill the unexpired term of the late
tor Paul Husting, which expired in 1921, and was re elected in 1920 for the
regular term which expires in 1927. Senator Lenroot was born at Superior,
January 31, 1869. He received a common school education, studied stenog-
raphy and became a court reporter, studied law and was admitted to the
bar in 1897. He was elected to the assembly in 1900-02-04 and served as
speaker during the sessions of 1903-05. In 1908 he was elected to the 61st
congress and was re-elected in 1910-12-14-16, resigning in April, 1918, to
accept the office of junior United States senator. He was elected November
2, 1920, for a six-year term.
  Kenosha, Racine, Rock, Walworth and Waukesha counties.
  HENRY ALLEN COOPER (Rep.) of Racine, was born at Spring Prairie,
Walworth county, Sept. 8, 1850; graduated from Northwestern University
in 1873, and from Union College of Law, Chicago (Now Law School of
Northwestern university) in 1875, is by profession a lawyer; resided in Chi-
cago from  1873 to 1879; otherwise has always lived in Wisconsin; in 1880
was elected district attorney of Racine county, and re-elected without op-
position in 1882 and 1884; state senator in 1886. He was author of the
law which first established the Australian ballot system in Wisconsin. He
was elected representative in congress in 1892-94-96-98, 1900-02-04-06-08-10-
  Jefferson, Columbia, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee and Sheboygan counties.
  EDWARD VOIGT (Rep.) of Sheboygan, was born in Bremen, Germany,
Dec. 1, 1873. He came to Milwaukee with his parents in 1884, when 11
years of age, attended the public schools, worked in law and insurance offices
for a few years and entered the Law College, University of Wisconsin 1896,
graduating in 1899.   He immediately engaged in the practice of law     
Sheboygan, served as district attorney of Sheboygan county 1905 to 1911
and city attorney of Sheboygan 1913 to 1917. He was chosen in convention

Go up to Top of Page