University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Harney, Richard J. / History of Winnebago County, Wisconsin, and early history of the Northwest

City of Neenah,   pp. 194-215 PDF (15.4 MB)

Page 214

sale was fully consummated in July, 1846, (see
City of Neenah.)
This sale included all south of the lake in
Sections 21 and 22, north half of Section i6,
the north fraction of Section 26, and all of
Section 27, except the south half of the south-
west quarter, and the south half of the south-
east quarter.
The remainder of the reservation was subject
to private entry, on or after December 28,
As already stated the town was organized
by the Legislature in 1847, and the first elec-
tion was held at the mill house of L. H. Jones,
April 6, 1847.
Cornelius Northrup was chosen chairman
and Harrison Reed, secretary. After some
preliminary business, the proceedings were
certified to by Northrup, chairman, and D. M.
Montgomery, town clerk.
The polls were then opened for the election
of town officers, and sixty-five votes were cast,
resulting in the election of James D. Doty,
chairman; James Ladd and Salem T. Holbrook,
supervisors; D. M. Montgomery, town clerk;
Perine Yale, treasurer; Henry M. Filley, Cor-
nelius Northrup and L. H Jones, Assessors;
L. B. Brian, collector; Milton Huxley, Eras-
tus Seymour and John T. Sanborn, school
commissioners, Lucius A. Donaldson, Samuel
Mitchell and Alfred Hubbard, Justices of the
At a special election held at the house of
James Ladd, in the Town of Neenah, Septem-
ber i8, 1847, the following town officers were
elected, Cornelius Northrup, chairman, and
H. C. Finch, supervisor.
Although no record seems to exist showing
cause for this election, it is probable that
James D. Doty and Salem T. Holbrook neg-
lected to qualify; and Northrup and Finch
were elected to fill the vacancies.
At a meeting of the supervisors September
30, 1847, it appearing that there is a vacancy
in the office of town clerk, by the removal of
Montgomery from the town, Herbert Reed
was appointed to fill the vacancy.
At this mceting the town was divided into
five school districts. The same number of road
districts having been established at the organic
October 6, 1847, Herbert Reed resigned the
office of town clerk.
November 29, 1847, Lucius A. Donaldson
seems to have acted in the capacity of town
clerk, and continued to do so, although no
record is found to show by what authority.
The first white family making a permanent
settlement within the present limits of the
town was that of George H. Mansur, in June,
1844. (For a complete history of his advent see
City of Neenah.)
Mr. Mansur's family seems to have been the
only population within the present limits, until
1846, when G. P. Vining, George Harlow
(both without families), Ira Baird, Stephen
Hartwell and Salem T. Holbrook, selected
farms and moved on to them. From this time
the growth of population was rapid and very
largely composed of young, industrious and
energetic men from the Eastern States.
Many of these early settlers we have noticed
in the early days of the city, and unable to
ascertain the date of their settlement in the
surrounding country, can only say, that, while
numbers eventually moved out, others remained
until they suddenly found themselves within
the limits of a city.
In 1847, a building was erected for a store,
on the south east quarter of Section 20, near
the present residence of Mr. William Tipler;
but after a year's experience the enterprise
was abandoned, and, in 1848, a school was
opened in the same building-the first public
school within the limits of the town, and was
taught by Miss Caroline Boynton, that year
and 1849.
Miss Boynton soon after became the wife of
Deacon Samuel Mitchell, of whom mention is
made in the sketch of the city, as a pioneer,
in 1846.
The first birth in the town was that of
Greenville K., son of George H. and Mary
Mansur, August 3, 1845. The first female
child born here was Helen, daughter of Asahel
Jenkins, in June, 1848. The first death
occurred in December, 1849, that of Mrs. H.
The first post-office was established March
14, 1844, being long prior to any town or vil-
village organization.  Harrison Reed was
appointed postmaster, and Simon Quatermass,
now residing in Vinland, was the first mail car-
Mr. Reed held the office until April i, 1847,
when he was succeeded by John F. Johnston,
who, at the expiration of six months, resigned
in favor of H. C. Janes, and he, in turn, gave
place to H. C. Finch in 1848, when the office
was removed to the store of J. R. and H. L.
Kimberly, the latter and Earl P. Finch (now
residing at Oshkosh, but at that time a clerk
in the store), served as deputies.  The next
office, and the only one within the present lim-
its of the town, was established at Snell's, a
station on the Northwestern Railroad, May 4,
1876, and called Snell's Station. David Reed
was appointed postmaster.

Go up to Top of Page