University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Haines, C. J.; Dean E. G. (ed.) / Rice Lake, Wisconsin
(1898?)

[Rice Lake, Wisconsin businesses],   pp. 16-24


Page 21

The largest concerns here give the road a good share of
their business.
Barry, M. P., general manager, has been with the
company and a resident of the city since the road has
been in operation. He was with C. & N. W. railway a
great many years at Chicago and held various respon-
sible positions in the general offices. Was general
agent of the Wisconsin Central Lines three years before
coming here. He was born at Walton, Delaware
county, N. Y., and went to Chicago in 1846. In 1861,
h enlisted in the 2d Wis. Inf. and served in the famous
"Iron Brigade."
Allen, I. F., local agent, has also been with the com-
pany since its organization. He was born at Palmyra,
Lenawee county, Mich., in 1859, and began railroading
with the Lake Shore where he remained 11 years and
then went to the Lake Superior Terminal & Transfer
company where he remained nearly three years before
coming here.
++
Vice Lake Manufacturing           Company.
This company was organized in the spring of 1893 and
their offices and factory, a picture of which is shown in
another place, are located on Eau Claire street near C., St.
P., M. & 0., railway tracks. They do contracting and
building and manufacture all kinds of bank, office and
saloon fixtures, sash, doors, blinds, screens, house
finishes of every description, cant hooks, peavy stocks.
etc. The company consists of 0. T. Johnson, J. H.
Tandberg, J. Shelrud and A. Hanson, and they furnish
employment for from 10 to 20 men 10 months during
the year. Mr. Johnson, foreman of the shop work, and
Mr. Tandberg. contractor and foreman of outside work,
both have had many years experience in their line of
work and are first class workmen, having formerly been
located at Chippewa Falls. Mr. Shelrud, engineer, came
from Minnesota and has been about 11 years in the
business. The office is looked after by B. Peterson,
bookkeeper, who has been with the firm    since its
organization. They are prepared to do any kind of
wood work and invite correspondence.
Mercier's kareljood       Sau   MlDill.
Located on Marshall street, west side, This mill is
owned by C. Mercier, has been in operation seven years
and turns out lalge quantities of hardwood lumber for
customers. Employment is furnished a crew of sixteen
men, and the mill has a capacity of about 1,500,000 feet
per season. During the past four seasons the work has
been in charge of D. S. Ellis, a gentleman of many years'
experience and popular with patrons of the mill. Mr.
Mercier also makes a specialty of contracting and build-
ing. He is a native of Canada. has resided in Rice Lake
13 years, and (luring that period has erected many of
the finer buildings in the city, among which are:
Catholic church and school, Barron county bank, opera
house block, M. T. Howard's residence and many others.
He is also a first class pattern maker and designer. A
picture of the mill is shown in this book.


Go up to Top of Page