University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Wisconsin Rural Electric Cooperative Association / First yearbook, 1938

Introduction: local cooperative histories,   pp. 33-49 PDF (4.3 MB)

Page 45

tion is a real achievement.
    Mr. Frank W. Gates, recently of Elkhorn, is Manager of the ROCK
COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE. Miss Veronica Thom was office secretary
until prevented from returning to her position by a serious injury received
while on vacation in Colorado. Mrs. Elizabeth Agnew is now bookkeeper
and office secretary. Two servicemen are at present employed by the
Cooperative.     '
    This Cooperative is purchasing its energy from Fairbanks-Morse
Company of Beloit, the substation being located there on the property of
the Company.
    The manager reports that satisfaction with their electric service is
practically general throughout the project, and that all bids fair for
successful operation.
    From J. 0. Woodman, who was the first to be connected in July, to
the last connection made, there is a brightening of faces and a lift of
tired shoulders, that express the thrill of gratefulness with which these
farm residents view the realization of the hopes that have made possible
for them by the construction of their REA electric lines.
                    Wisconsin-21 -Taylor
    The seven hundred members of the TAYLOR COUNTY ELECTRIC CooP-
ERATIVE which was incorporated January 18, 1937, expect their 218 miles
of line to be complete before the first anniversary of their incorporation.
    Their local office has been established at Medford. Paul J. Fleisch-
mann is the Project Superintendent and Miss Hildegarde Ruprich of
Dorchester, the stenographer.
    At 8 p. m. on the second Tuesday of each month the Board meets at
the office to discuss the problems and set the course of their Cooperative.
           ANDREW E. HETLAND, President, Whittlesey
           JOHN OCKERLANDER, Vice-President, Dorchester
           HENRY BERGMANN, Secretary-Treasurer, Goodrich
               CHARLES PAUR, Medford
               HERB JANKE, Athens
               ALBERT BISCHOFF, Dorchester
               CARL M. NELSON, Medford
               ALBERT PINSCH, Medford
               JULIUS MILLER, Medford
    Staking and construction supervision was begun on this project by
C. A. Jorgenson who was later transferred to Bangor. He was replaced
by F. R. McFarland. The Contractor is L. G. Arnold., Inc. of Eau
Claire, Wisconsin.
    The TAYLOR COOPERATIVE is a member of the Wisconsin Power Coop-
erative, Paul J. Fleischmann representing the Taylor group on the Board
of Directors. The substation for their project is near Stetsonville on
Unit 2 of the transmission line.
    If the interest and anticipation present among the members can be
taken as indicative, the TAYLOR COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE will be
strong and successful.

Go up to Top of Page