University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Wisconsin Rural Electric Cooperative Association / First yearbook, 1938

Introduction: local cooperative histories,   pp. 33-49 PDF (4.3 MB)

Page 37

    During the first part of December a survey preliminary to preparation
of Plans and Specifications, was taken by E. L. Cartwright, Chief Drafts-
man of the STATEWIDE staff.
    The DUNN COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE is located on Unit 3 of the
transmission line and their power contract with the Wisconsin Power
Cooperative has been approved by REA. The foundation for the sub-
station which is located about five miles north of Menomonie on Highway
25, has been set.  Construction activities on the distribution lines will
begin in the spring.
    The names and addresses of the Board of Directors follows:
             W. E. OWEN, President, Downing
             ED. BASKIN, Vice-president, Eau Galle
             PAUL TIETZ, Secretary-Treasurer, Menomonie
             ED. RUUD, Menomonie
             C. F. SUTLIFFE, Bovceville
             CLEM CATT, Rock Falls
             ARNOLD GILBERTS, New Auburn
             ED. KARNES, Menomonie
    One of the newer members of STATEWIDE is the GRANT COUNTY CooP-
ERATIVE RURAL ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION which was incorporated April 6,
1937. A loan contract has been signed with REA for $180,000.00 which
is to build about 170 miles. The entire project has approximately 442 miles.
    The Board of Directors follow:
           C. J. JARRETT, President, Livingston
           E. J. STONEMAN, Vice-president, Platteville
           J. C. HENDRICKS, Secretary-Treasurer, Hazel Green
           JAY P. MARTIN, Bagley
           JMARTIN WIELAND, Lancaster
           RAY DIVALL, Fennimore
           JOE TRECEK, Boscobel
           JOHN RYAN, Glen Haven
           Louis UPPENA, Cassville
    Mr. Earl Raisbeck has been appointed project superintendent, Miss
Hilda M. Hazen is the stenographer-bookkeeper. The Board of Directors
meets regularly the first Monday of each month in the office of the Coop-
erative which has been established in Lancaster.
     Many County Agents of the state have been of great assistance in
     formation of these electric Cooperatives, and the farmers of Grant
County feel that in their County, Ben H. Walker deserves special mention.
     It is anticipated that the original part of the project for which the
 cntract was let to L G. Arnold, Inc. of Eau Claire, will, under normal
 progress, be completed in June, 1938. Energy is to be purchased from
 the Interstate Power Company at their substation south of Lancaster.
     lne GRANT CouNTr CoopERATv RuRAL ELECTRIC AssociATioN en-
gaged the services of WRECA within a few days following incorporation.
L. E. Parkyn represents STATEWIDE as resident engineer on the project

Go up to Top of Page