University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Historic places and people in the land of milk and honey: Wisconsin's treasure: a tribute to our past, a celebration of the present and our commitment to continue the good life
(1998)

[Russell mill],   p. 34 PDF (736.5 KB)


Page 34


.~e.*.
Many stone buildings scattered in the west-
ern end of Racine County are considered
unique. The Russell house in Rochester is
considered one of the finest rural, Italianate
villa homes in southeastern Wisconsin.
Andrew J. Russell, proprietor of the mill
across the street, built the house in 1867,
taking four years to complete. Stone was
hauled from Lannon, Wisconsin by ox cart.
Mr. Russell carved his own woodwork which
Is still beautiful today.
Though some remodeling has been done,
a frame wing and garage attached to the
rear, the original beauty Is still there.
It Is said that on a clear day one can see
five counties from the widow's walk or
cupola on top. Present day owners are
Elaine and Rolland Draves.
Several mills have been erected on the site
of the Russell mill. It seems mills are prone to
catch on fire. The first grist mill here on the
west bank of the Fox River was built by Philo
Belden, J. Ford, and T. Green. Other names
connected with the various mills were
Hogeland, Hurbut, Scott, Jones, Titus, Merrill,
and Rose.
Andrew Russell built his mill in 1884 and it
lasted to within present memory. The last
owner was Henry Davis, who ran it for the
longest period of time, 1939-1976. He sold it
to Ray Kempken who had it razed in 1977.
Others before the settlers found this a
favorite spot. For many years a huge oak
tree called the Indian Council Tree stood
just south of the mill.
                             Eileen Albright


Go up to Top of Page