Shattuck, S. F., et. al (ed.) / A history of Neenah
Blacksmithing, p. 183 PDF (217.4 KB)
BLACKSMITHING 7ohnson & Myhre, Blacksmiths THE American scene lost something picturesque and so characteristic of an earlier day when the blacksmith shop passed from view. These shops made and repaired all sorts of metal equipment for the home, farm and industry, such as wagons, sleighs, buggies, and many other useful items. Horseshoeing was a specialty; shoes and nails were made by hand. We are indebted to Olaf A. Myhre for the following sketch. Olaf relates that his father, Ole, coming to this region in Neenah's early days, walked from Neenah to Stevens Point and back to determine where he would locate. He never regretted, Olaf says, that he chose Neen ah. "It was in I866 that Evan Johnson and Ole 0. Myhre bought the property now occupied by the Wieckert Lumber Company office, setting up a partnership in the blacksmithing business. During the '8os Johnson sold his interest to Myhre, who continued until his death April 12, 1904, when his son, Olaf, took over, merging with the J. W. Hewitt Machine Company in I914." Following is Olaf's listing of the blacksmiths who have served Nee- nah across the years: Pat McNary Charles Bergstrom William Schumann Johnson & Myhre August Raddatz Bill Butterfield Henry and George Julius Tom Hurley John Sturm Hans Oleson Lauritz Nielson Fred and Will Mason Max Thermansen John Bergstrom 183
This image may be copied freely by individuals, educational institutions, and libraries for personal use, research, teaching, or any 'fair use' as defined by U.S. copyright laws. Please include the following statement with any copies you make: 'Photograph courtesy of the Neenah Public Library.'