University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Kimberly, James C. / The history of the Neenah-Nodaway Yacht Club of Neenah, Wisconsin: an account of yacht racing on Lake Winnebago from 1859 to 1957

Chapter 3: Fond du Lac and Oshkosh organize yacht clubs,   pp. 21-34 ff.

Page 21

CHAPTER          C     qond du Qac and Oshkosh 
          3 TOrganize %Jacht Clubs 
 THE rivals of Neenah boats in the 1870's and 1880's came for 
 the most part from Fond du Lac and Oshkosh. Yachtsmen in these 
 two cities organized about 1870. 
                 FOND Du LAC YACHT CLUB 
  The Daisy Club seems to have been the predecessor of the Fond 
du Lac Yacht Club. About 1870 or 1871, H. C. Dodd and S. A. 
Dudley purchased the Daisy, a very fast seaworthy boat for both 
cruising and racing. Friends of the new boat formed the Daisy 
Club and sailed her at Oshkosh in 1871 at the first annual regatta 
sponsored by the newly organized Oshkosh Yacht Club. She cap- 
tured the first prize and the championship pennant in a contest 
with three Oshkosh yachts: the H. B. Harshaw, sailed by Robert 
Brand; the Nautilus, with W. W. Tolman; and the Lady Maud, 
the holder of the pennant, skippered by Capt. Crawford. This 
victory gave the new club a most auspicious start. 
  On October 2, 1871, the Daisy Club scheduled a regatta off the 
mouth of the Fond du Lac River free to all yachts accessible to 
Lake Winnebago. Five prizes totaling $150 were offered and 
fourteen boats entered, a sizable fleet for the date. No account of 
the race has been found, but the entries as published in the local 
Journal of September 28, 1871, and given below, list many of the 
boats and men that helped make yacht-racing history on Winne- 
    Penequa             Capt. E. W. Viall    Oshkosh 
    Nautilus            W. W. Tolman         Oshkosh 
    H. B. Harshaw       J. S. Bridges        Oshkosh 
    Lady Maud           W. H. Crawford       Oshkosh 
    K. M. Hutchinson    J. D. Thomas         Oshkosh 
    Dauntless           J. M. Dickinson      Oshkosh 

Go up to Top of Page