University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Shattuck, S. F., et. al (ed.) / A history of Neenah

The chamber of commerce of Neenah-Menasha,   pp. 191-193 PDF (720.2 KB)

Page 191

                     112 West Wisconsin Avenue
DURING the first half of the twentieth century, several businessmen's
associations were started in Neenah, but none of them existed for more
than a few months or a few years, due principally to lack of proper
organization for sustaining their activities.
  In 1940, a group of Neenah businessmen formed the Chamber of
Commerce of Neenah. Otto Lieber was elected the first president. A
young attorney, Elmer Radtke, acted as part-time secretary for about
a year, and, when he left the city, the Chamber hired William Pfrang
as a full-time secretary. Mr. Pfrang served until May, 1942, when he
resigned to join the Armed Forces in World War II.
  Don W. Colburn was hired then as a full-time secretary, and served
until his resignation in November, 1955. John C. Konrad succeeded
him in February, 1956.
  In 1946 the Directors of the Neenah Chamber invited Menasha
businessmen and firms to join with them, and, early in that year, rein-
corporated the Chamber into a Twin City organization, changing the
name to "The Chamber of Commerce of Neenah-Menasha." Since
that time, the Chamber has operated with an equal number of busi-
nessmen and firms from each city on its Board of Directors, and has
alternated the presidency from one city to the other.
  Its activities from 1946 to date have been on a true Twin City
basis, in the belief we are one community, and should work to the best
interests of all concerned.
                    Chamber of Commerce Presidents
   Otto Lieber, Jr.   1940-41      E. E. Jandrey       1949-50
   Rudy Lotz          1941 -42     Stuart Thompson     1950-5I
   W. R. Werner       1942-43      G. E. Sande         1951-52
   H. E. Christoph    1943-44      A. C. Hidde, Jr.    1952-53
   S. N. Pickard      1944-45      G. H. Cameron       1953-54
   S. F. Shattuck     1945-46      Ray J. Fink         1954-55
   N. J. Williams     1946-47      George E. Elwers   1955-56
   J. M. Wheeler      1947-48      Dedric W. Bergstrom 1956-57
   J. R. Ward         1948-49      David Ryan         1957-58
Compiled by Don Colburn

Go up to Top of Page