University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Shattuck, S. F., et. al (ed.) / A history of Neenah

Blacksmithing,   p. 183 PDF (217.4 KB)

Page 183

7ohnson & Myhre, Blacksmiths
THE American scene lost something picturesque and so characteristic
of an earlier day when the blacksmith shop passed from view. These
shops made and repaired all sorts of metal equipment for the home,
farm and industry, such as wagons, sleighs, buggies, and many other
useful items. Horseshoeing was a specialty; shoes and nails were made
by hand.
  We are indebted to Olaf A. Myhre for the following sketch. Olaf
relates that his father, Ole, coming to this region in Neenah's early
days, walked from Neenah to Stevens Point and back to determine
where he would locate. He never regretted, Olaf says, that he chose
Neen ah.
  "It was in I866 that Evan Johnson and Ole 0. Myhre bought the
property now occupied by the Wieckert Lumber Company office,
setting up a partnership in the blacksmithing business. During the
'8os Johnson sold his interest to Myhre, who continued until his
death April 12, 1904, when his son, Olaf, took over, merging with the
J. W. Hewitt Machine Company in I914."
  Following is Olaf's listing of the blacksmiths who have served Nee-
nah across the years:
Pat McNary                       Charles Bergstrom
William Schumann                 Johnson & Myhre
August Raddatz                   Bill Butterfield
Henry and George Julius          Tom Hurley
John Sturm                       Hans Oleson
Lauritz Nielson                  Fred and Will Mason
Max Thermansen                   John Bergstrom

Go up to Top of Page