University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Richard, George (ed.) / Wisconsin alumnus
Volume 56, Number 12 (April 15, 1955)

The nominees,   p. 18

Page 18

                                                          March 10, 1955
    The Nominating Committee met at Madison on February 17 for the purpose
of selecting candidates to fill ten vacancies for three-year terms as directors
at large.
I selecting the nominees, special consideration was given by the Committee
to two
factors deemed important for the welfare of the Association.
     1. To maintain continuity, five of the directors now serving were renominated.
       They are Harry W. Adams, Mrs. John Schindler, Don Anderson, Lloyd
       Larson and Gordon R. Walker.
     2. Ten new candidates have been nominated to afford a representative
       for the existing vacancies. In choosing this group, a special effort
was made
       to nominate men and women who had been active in their local alumni
       The new candidates nominated are John G. Jamison, Sherbourne Driessen,
       Gordon R. Connor, John Wickhem, Charles Newlin, Mrs. L. J. Walker,
       Mrs. Robert Lehman, Norman Schulze, Mrs. Glenn H. Jahnke and Bernice
     Your Nominating Committee believes that these candidates are especially
qualified for the honor and privilege of serving as directors of the Wisconsin
Association. The Nominating Committee wishes to give special note to Mrs.
Cloon who came down from Ironwood, Michigan, to serve on the Committee. Such
loyalty is outstanding. The Committee also wishes to express its appreciation
to the
Board of Directors and the officers of their Association for their past services
looks forward to another year of progress.
                           Respectfully submitted,
                         The Nominating
Mrs. W. 1. Kumlien, Janesville, Chairman
Raymond Patterson, Beaver Dam
Kathryn Zabel, Beloit
Bill Nathenson, Chicago
John Hobbins, Madison
Mrs. Charles Orth, Ir., Milwaukee
Mrs. Charles Iltis, Appleton
Mrs. William Cloon, Ironwood
Robert V. Jones, Wausau
          THE NOMINEES
HARRY W. ADAMS, '00, Beloit. Former Beloit Wisconsin
    Alumni Club president, awarded distinguished service
    citation by Alumni Association in 1952; attorney, insur-
    ance law specialist, food specialty firm president, one-time
    mayor; first Beloit Kiwanis president.
DON ANDERSON, '25, Madison UW Alumni Club leader
    with close University connections; publisher of Wisconsin
    State Journal, president of Madison Newspapers, Inc.,
    director of the Badger Broadcasting Company; active in
    various civic affairs.
GORDON R. CONNOR, '29, Wausau. Past-president of two
     alumni clubs (at Gogebic Range and Marshfield); direc-
     tor of National "W" Club; executive Connor Lumber
     and Land Co. and Underwood Veneer Co.; active in
     YMCA, Boy Scout work.
SHERBOURNE DRIESSEN, '28, Milwaukee. Past-president
     of Wisconsin Alumni Club of Milwaukee, vice-president
     of Marshall & Ilsley Bank.
MRS. GLENN JAHNKE (Ruth Christensen, '50), Milwau-
     kee. Director of Wisconsin Alumni Club of Milwaukee;
     in charge of women's activities; has masters degree in
     education, is elementary school teacher.
LLOYD LARSON, '27, Milwaukee. Active in local and na-
    tional alumni work; sports editor of the Milwaukee
JOHN JAMIESON, '38, Madison. Past-president of Wiscon-
    sin Alumni Club of Madison; former secretary National
    "W" Club; UW golf coach and vice-president Bell and
    Parrell, Inc. investment firm; former naval lieutenant.
MRS. ROBERT F. LEHMAN (Elizabeth Taylor, '47), Elk-
    horn. Walworth County UW Alumni Club past-president,
    member alumnae advisory committee of Alumni Associa-
    tion, Wisconsin Pre-View sponsor; active in civic affairs.
CHARLES 0. NEWLIN, '37, Chicago. Director of Chicago
     UW Alumni Club; second vice-president, Continental
     Illinois National Bank and Trust Co., former naval lieu-
     tenant; active in Scout and church work.
MRS. JOHN A. SCHINDLER, (Dorothy Rickaby, '28),
     Monroe. Monroe Alumni Club leader; present secretary
     of Wisconsin Alumni Association; member alumnae ad-
     visory committee, Wisconsin Pre-View sponsor; once
     member of UW teaching staff.
NORMAN E. SCHULZE, '31, La Crosse. President of prize-
     winning Wisconsin Alumni Club of La Crosse (for pub-
     lic relations program); Wisconsin Pre-View sponsor;
     district manager, Wisconsin State Employment Service;
     active in civic and youth groups.
BERNICE M. SCOTT, '24, Sheboygan. Member Alumni
     Association alumnae advisory committee; Wisconsin Pre-
                                 WISCONSIN ALUMNUS

Go up to Top of Page