University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The History Collection

Page View

Information bulletin
No. 131 (March 23, 1948)

Key list of MG personnel,   pp. 25-[32] PDF (4.8 MB)

Page 30

Chief, Adult Education Brands: Mr. Ralph E.
Berry, 660.
Chief, Schools Branch: Mr. Payne Templeton,
Chief, Religious Affairs Branch: Dr. Karl J.
Arndt, 413.
Chief, Youth Activities Branch: Mr. Leon
A. Shelnutt, 574.
Assistant Chief: Mr. Aksel G. Nielsen, 426.
Legal Division
Director: Mr. Richard J. Jackson, 259.
Chief, German Justice Branch: Mr. Ralph E.
Brown, 597/Ext. 263.
Chief Prisons Branch: Mr. Paul J. Gernert,
597/Ext. 256.
Chief, Legal Advise Branch: Mr. Wesley A.
Smith, 97/Ert. 274.
Assistant Chief: Mr. John Davis, 597/Ext. 273.
Chief, Military Government Courts Branch:
Mr. Carl P. Fulghum, 597/Ext. 217.
Information Control Division
Director: Mr. Nicholas Cannedy, 620.
Executive Officer: Mr. Stuart L. Hannon, 649.
Chief, Radio Control Branch: Mr. Fred G.
Taylor, 93678.
Chief, Press Control Branch: Mr. Joseph L.
Dees, 638.
Chief, Publication Control Branch: Mr. E. W.
Schnitzer, 610.
Chief, Film Control Branch: Mr. John Scott,
Chief, Theater & Music Control: Mr. William
Castello, 621.
Chief, Exhibit & Information Centers: Mr.
Michael Weyl, 93091.
Chief, Intelligence Branch: Mr. John H. Boxer,
Chief, Research Branch: Mr. William Stevens,
Civil Administration Division
Director: Mr. Chester B. Lewis, 395.
Chief, Government Structure Branch: Mr.
Harold L. Wyatt, 358.
Chief, Wuerttemberg Section: Mr. Donald S.
Harper, 374.
Chief, Baden Section: Capt. Henry Walter
Chief, Legislative Coordinating Branch: Mr.
Fentress Gardener, 568.
Intelligence Division
Director: Mr. Peter Vacca, 541.
OMG for Bremen
Director: Mr. Thomas F. Dunn, 20686.
Deputy Director: Capt. Charles R. Jeffs, 20279.
Executive Officer: Mr. Joseph L. Payette,
Public Information Officer: Mr. Robert B.
Redlich, 20359.
Budget & Fiscal Officer: Mr. Joseph F. Na-
poli, 20355.
Personnel Officer: Miss G. Sullivan, 23296
and 20435.
Land Intelligence Officer: Mr. Nicholas Metal,
Civil Administration Division
Chief: Dr. Ernest A. Flotow, 20769.
Education Division
Chief: Mr. Harold H. Grabill, 20421.
Information Control Division
Chief: Mr. Duncan Di. McBryde, 20149.
Public Health & Welfare Division
Chief: Dr. John D. Winebrenner, 20610.
Economics Division
Chief: Mr. Osborne M. Taylor, 20120.
Deputy Chief: Mr. Cecil T. Doll, 20487.
Transport Division
Chief Coordinator: Mr. Robert J. Sieben-
morgen, 20004, 23515.
Finance & Property Control Division
Chief: Mr. William H. Goehring, 20590.
Manpower Division
Chief: Dr. George R. Mursell, 20188.
Denazification Division
Chief: Mr. Joseph F. Napoli, 20355, 23750,
Chief, Public Safety Bianch: Mr. John S. Baber,
Legal Division
Chief: Mr. Robert W. Johnson, 20633.
OMG for Berlin Sector
(Berlin, APO 742-A)
Director: Col. Frank L. Howley, 43139.
Deputy Director: Mr. William T. Babcock,
Executive Officer: Lt. Col. Charles 0. Buck-
land, 43163.
US Commandant, Allied Kommandatura Berlin:
Col. Frank L. Howley, 44919.
Chief of Staff: Colonel Peter C. Bullard, 44915.
Asst. Chief of Staff: Lt. Col. Wilbur F. Maring,
Chief, Civil Administration and Political Affairs
Branch: Mr. Louis Glaser, 42938.
Chief, Communications Branch: Mr. H. T. Win-
gate, 42614.
Deputy: Mr. C. R. Ballard, 42616.
Chief, Economics Branch: Mr. A. W. Moran,
Deputy: Mr. D. H. Hair, 43543.
Chief, Food & Agriculture Section: Mr. L. J.
Steck, 43114.
Chief, Industry Section: Mr. H. A. Swanson,
Chief, Requirements & Allocations Section:
Mr. E. W. Kunkel, 43038.
Chief, Trade & Commerce Section: Mr. 0. L.
Sause, 42882.
Chief, Transportation Section: Mr. C. A. Dix,
Chief, Building & Housing Section: Mr. A. B.
Fuller, 42888.
Chief, Education and Religious Affairs Branch:
Mr. John R. Sala, 42837.
Chief, Finance Branch: Mr. J. F. Kilduff, 42787.
Chief, Information Control Branch: Mr. Bruce
Buttles, 44021.
Chief, Berlin Press Review: Mr. R. Simon,
Chief, Public Opinion Survey: Mr. H. Herz,
Chief, Press Section: Mr. B. S. Fielden, 44806.
Chief, Publication Section: Mr. F. Ble-istein,
Chief Film Officer: Mr. C. Winston, 42213.
Chief Radio Office (RIAS): Mr. William F.
Heimlich, 44815.
Chief Theater & Music Officer: Mr. J. Bitter,
Acting Chief, Legal Branch: M. A. A. Birn-
krant, 42916.
Chief, Court Section: Lt. Col. L. A. Swoboda,
Liaison Officers (with mayors) Berlin: Lt. Col.
J. L. Kaiiser, 421466/420051.
Neukoelln: Mr. M. J. Kasprzychki, 5910.
Kreuzberg: Mr. C. J. Melchers, 5836.
Schoeneberg: Mr. C. J. Melchers, 3427.
Steglit: Major J. E. Davisson, 43940.
Tempelhof: Mr. M. J. Kasprzydci, 5266.
Zehlendorf: Major J. E. Davisson, 2203.
Chief, Manpower Branch: (Vacancy), 43364/
Deputy: Mr. G. N. McClusky, 43087.
Chief, Manpower, Allocation Section: Miss E.
R. Hunter, 42051.
Chief, Labor Relations Section: Mr. E. L.
Gardner, 44318.
Chief, Wages & Labor Standards Section: Miss
J. Mayer, 42161.
Chief, Social Insurance Section: Mr. E. L.
Gardner, 44318.
Chlief, Property Control Branch: Mr. J. H.
Nobles, Jr., 42814.
Chief, Public Health Branch: Lt. Col. A. J.
Rapalski, 42764.
Deputy: Dr. Eugene Schwarz, 42738.
Chief, Public Relations, Statistical, and Histor-
Ical Branch: Mr. F. W. Shaw, 43869.
Chief, Public Safety Branch: Mr. Ray Ash.
worth, 43949.
Chief, Fire Section: Mr. John P. M. Schmidt,
43949, Ext. 27.
Chief, Police Section: Mr. C. C. Bond, 43949,
Ext. 24/25.
Chief, Special Branch Section: Mr. U. R. Gress,
43949, Ext. 34.
Chief,  Investigation  Section:  Mr. C. E.
Westrum, 43949, Ext. 38.
Chief, Public Welfare Branch: Mr. W. M.
Froistad, 42663.
Deputy: Mr. H. R. Studd, 42638.
Chief, Public Works and Utilities: Mr. E. C.
Rohrbaugh, 42714.
Deputy Chief of Branch: Major A. G. Skina,
Allied Control Authority
(US Represenatives)
US   representatives  on   the   various
quadripartite bodies of the Allied Control
Authority are as follows:
General Lucius D. Clay.
Maj. General G. P. Hays.
Allied Secretariat
US Secretary: Lt. Col. H. A. Gerhardt.
Deputy US Secretary: Mr. E. 0. Oulashin.
Assistant to US Secretary: Capt. H. S. Beu.
Manpower Directorate
Mr. L. R. Werts.
Secretariat: Miss M. L. Slusher.
Labor Supply Committee: Mr. D. L. Snyder.
Social Insurance Committee: Mr. M. G.
Trade Union and Labor Law Committee: Mr.
J. K. Meskimen.
Wages and Labor Standards Committee: Mr.
E. R. Beckner.
Housing Committee: Mr. H. E. Schi'ller.
Legal Directorate
Mr. A. J. Rockwell, Col. J. M. Raymond,
Mr. S. Kramer.
Secretariat: Mr. E. G. Wiener.
Legislative Drafting Committee: Mr. S. Kra-
Committee on Reform of German Law: Mr. W.
von Rosensteil.
Committe for the Revision of the Criminal
Law: Mr. E. Schopler.
Industrial Property Committee: Major V. L.
CROWCASS, Permanent Commission: Mr. B_
A. Smith.
MARCH 23. 194a

Go up to Top of Page