University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The History Collection

Page View

Jensen, Merrill; Kaminski, John P.; Saladino, Gaspare J. (ed.) / Ratification of the Constitution by the states: Pennsylvania
2 (1976)

A. Proceedings and debates of the convention,   pp. 326-616

Page 605

His Excellency the President, and Honorable the Vice President,
Members of the Council, two and two,
Doorkeeper of the Council,
Messenger of the Convention,
Secretary of the Convention,
Honorable the President of the Convention,
Members of the Convention, two and two,
Doorkeeper of the Convention,
Delegates of Congress,
Provost and Faculty of the University,
Officers of the Militia,
1. See Newspaper Reports of the Public Celebration of Ratification on 13
December, below.
Convention Proceedings, P.M.
The Convention returned, and subscribed the Ratification of the
Constitution on an original and duplicate.
It was moved by Thomas M'Kean, and seconded by Hilary Baker,
That the secretary deliver to the master of the rolls (for the pur-
pose of having it recorded) one of the scrolls, containing the Con-
stitution, Ratification, and names subscribed, as they here follow.
[At this point the Journals contain the Constitution and the names
of the thirty-nine delegates who signed it in the Constitutional Con-
In the Name of the PEOPLE of Pennsylvania.
BE IT KNOWN UNTO ALL MEN,-That We, the Delegates of
the PEOPLE of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, in General Con-
vention assembled, have assented to and ratified, and by these Presents
DO, in the Name and by the Authority of the same PEOPLE, and for
ourselves, assent to and ratify the foregoing Constitution for the
DONE in Convention, the Twelfth Day of December, in the Year
one thousand seven hundred and eighty-seven, and of the Independence
of the United States of America the Twelfth. In witness whereof, we
have hereunto subscribed our Names.'
[At this point the Journals contain the names of the forty-six dele-
gates who voted for ratification and the attestation of Secretary James
Campbell. For the official Form of Ratification sent to the Con-
federation Congress, see Frederick A. Muhlenberg to the President of
Congress, 15 December, III below.]
Adjourned until half past nine o'clock tomorrow, A.M.

Go up to Top of Page