University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The History Collection

Page View

Kaminski, John P.; Saladino, Gaspare J.; Moore, Timothy D. (Historian); Lannér-Cusin, Johanna E.; Schoenleber, Charles H.; Reid, Jonathan M.; Flamingo, Margaret R.; Fields, David P. (ed.) / Ratification of the Constitution by the states: Maryland (1)
11 (2015)

Acknowledgments,   pp. xii-xiii

Page xii

The two Maryland volumes were supported principally by grants from
the National Historical Publications and Records Commission, the Na-
tional Endowment for the Humanities, the E. Gordon Fox Fund of the
University of Wisconsin Foundation, and the Lynde and Harry Bradley
Foundation. Substantial aid was also provided by the William Nelson
Cromwell Foundation and the Hamilton Roddis Foundation.
We thank Kathleen Williams and Timothy D. W. Connelly of the
NHPRC; Jim Leach and Lydia Medici of the NEH; Michael W. Grebe,
Dianne J. Sehler, Daniel P. Schmidt, and Yvonne Engel of the Bradley
Foundation; John D. Gordan III of the Cromwell Foundation; and
Thomas H. Roddis and Philip Hamilton Prange of the Hamilton Roddis
A continuing debt of gratitude is owed to the administration, faculty,
and staff of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, especially Dean John
Karl Scholz, Assistant Deans Linda J. Neusen and Christopher Bruhn,
and John G. Varda of the College of Letters and Science; and Dawn-
Marie M. Roberts of Research and Sponsored Programs. In the De-
partment of History, we thank Chair James Sweet, Todd Anderson, Mi-
chael R. Burmeister, Jana Valeo, Nicole S. Hauge, John J. Persike, and
Leslie Abadie.
For aid in fund raising, we are indebted to the University of Wiscon-
sin Foundation, especially to past president Andrew A. (Sandy) Wilcox,
President Michael M. Knetter, Marion F. Brown, Walter H. Keough,
Martha A. Taylor, Anne Lucke, and Michelle Koran.
In addition to being our publisher, the Wisconsin Historical Society
is our primary research library. The Society's staff continues its invalu-
able support as does the staff at the University's Memorial Library.
Others have provided essential information or documents: Kenneth
R. Bowling of the Documentary History of the First Federal Congress;
Allan Holtzman and Reba Pile of the Periodicals Department, Enoch
Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.; Bruce Kirby, Manuscript Reference
Librarian of the Manuscript Division, Library of Congress; and Ste-
phanie Smith, Archivist of the Maryland State Archives.
Finally, we thank Jon Koser, who under the direction of Tanya Buck-
ingham of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Cartography Labora-
tory, prepared the Maryland map found on the endpapers.
This first of two volumes on Maryland ratification is dedicated to
Edward C. Papenfuse. Dr. Papenfuse is one of the foremost historians

Go up to Top of Page