Labor Leadership Assembly for Peace Records, 1960-1972

Scope and Content Note

This collection has been compiled from files donated by Moe Foner, executive secretary of the Drug and Hospital Employees Union and LLAP national coordinator, and Art Gundersheim of the Chicago Joint Board of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers, who served as midwest executive secretary of LLAP. Included are records not only of the Labor Leadership Assembly for Peace, but also of the Trade Union Division of SANE, in which both Foner and Gundersheim were active. Also donated by Foner is a small group of papers on the anti-war activities of Local 1199 of the Drug and Hospital Employees Union. The overall arrangement of the collection corresponds to the chronological evolution of the three organizations and consists of correspondence, clippings, publicity materials, and financial records.

The anti-war records of LOCAL 1199, DRUG AND HOSPITAL EMPLOYEES UNION, consist of correspondence to and from President Leon J. Davis, a petition and statement on the war, and clippings concerning the activities of the local during its early days. Davis' correspondence includes a letter from Sidney Lens (October 20, 1965) on the need to organize anti-war sentiment in the unions and letters from Robert F. Kennedy (May 1, 1965), Harrison A. Williams, Jr. (February 16, 1966), and other legislators in reply to a union communication about the war.

The records of the TRADE UNION DIVISION OF SANE were largely generated by Foner and include correspondence on its formation and early history and planning for the LLAP convention. Also included are clippings, press releases, and copies of a newsletter pertaining to Trade Union Division activities. Prominent correspondents include Jules Feiffer, John Kenneth Galbraith, and James Wechsler. The financial records pertain entirely to the Chicago chapter.

Records of the LABOR LEADERSHIP ASSEMBLY FOR PEACE, which begin with the November 1967 conference, include convention papers, clippings, and mailing and membership lists. Among the convention papers are addresses, some of which appear to be incomplete, by John Kenneth Galbraith, Vance Hartke, Martin Luther King, Jr., Emil Mazey, Victor Reuther, Frank Rosenblum, and David Schoenbrun and statements of policy.