University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Ohm, Howard F.; Bryhan, Leone G. (ed.) / The Wisconsin Blue Book, 1937

Members of the legislature,   pp. [23]-70 PDF (16.7 MB)

Page 41

MEMBERS OF THE ASSEMBLY                         41
      McDOWELL                SCHENK                HANSON
        Crawford              Dane, 1st            Dane, 2nd
  DONALD C. McDOWELL (Rep.) was born at Mt. Sterling in Craw-
ford County on August 27, 1890. He is a graduate of the Soldiers Grove
High School and attended Lawrence College and the University of
Wisconsin. Mr. McDowell is interested in farming and is a farm owner.
He has been postmaster at Soldiers Grove from 1922-35; a member of
the school board from 1926-33; a member of the Soldiers and Sailors
Relief Commission of Crawford County for the past five years; and
at present is a supervisor and member of the county board. He served
in the World War with the famous 32nd Division. This is his first
term in the assembly. Home Address: Soldiers Grove.
  HERBERT C. SCHENK (Prog.) was born on June 26, 1880 in Leeds.
He attended the elementary school in Madison and also Northwestern
Business College where he was graduated in 1898. From 1901-08 he was
manager of a retail lumber yard and from that time on he has been a
retail hardware dealer. Mr. Schenk has been a member of the board
of education since 1921, and of the park commission and board of
health from 1918 and 1923, respectively, to the present. He also be-
longed to the Wisconsin National Guard from 1898 to 1901. This is
Mr. Schenk's second term     in the assembly. Home Address: 2051
Winnebago Street, Madison.
  Dane County, first district: The city of Madison.
  JAMES C. HANSON (Prog.) came to America at the age of four from
  Slysrup, Lolland, Denmark, where he was born July 11, 1862. He has
  always made his home in the town of Christiana. He received his
  education in the public schools, Albion Academy, and Milton College.
  His occupation is farming and he has long been active in the coopera-
  tive movement. Besides holding many other offices of trust and honor,
  Mr. Hanson has been a member of the assembly since 1917 and is the
  oldest legislator in point of service. The University Board of Regents
  presented him with a testimonial of appreciation in 1932 for his pio-
  neering services in the field of cooperative marketing and the organiza-
  tion of other cooperatives. Home Address: Route 2, Deerfield.
  Dane County, second district: Towns of Albion, Blooming Grove,
  Bristol, Burke, Christiana, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunkirk, Dunn,
  Medina, Pleasant Springs, Rutland, Sun Prairie, Windsor, and York;
  villages of Cambridge, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, DeForest, McFarland.
  Marshall, Rockdale, and Sun Prairie; city of Stoughton.

Go up to Top of Page