University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The State of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Heg, James E. (ed.) / The Blue Book of the state of Wisconsin. Comprising the constitutions of the United States and of the state of Wisconsin, Jefferson's manual, forms and laws for the regulation of business; also lists and tables for reference, etc.
Twenty-Third Volume (1885)

Part VIII. Biographical,   pp. [409]-453 ff. PDF (14.8 MB)

Page 421

                                 Ninth District.
           Green Lake, Portage and Waushara counties. Population, 44,900.
  JAMES FRANKLIN WILEY (Rep.), of Hancock, was born in the town of Gouverneur,
StfLawrence county, New York, on the 17th of May, 1832; removed to Wisconsin
in 1855,
settling at Hancock; received a common school education; is engaged in a
general mercan-
tile business; was postmaster at Hancock for twenty-three years; has held
various local of-
fices; was a delegate to state convention of 1881 and '84; was elected state
senator for 1881
and 182, and re-elected in 1882 for a term of four years, receiving 8,043
votes, against 3,619
for William Stewart, democrat, and 171 for C. Sherman, greenbacker.
                                 Tenth District.
                        Waukesha county. Population, 28,957.
  JOHN A. LINS (Rep.), of Eagle, was born in Wachstadt, Province Saxony,
October 3, 1840; received a common school and partial academic education;
is a merchant;
came to Wisconsin in 1857 and settled in Milwaukee; after the war he returned
to Wisconsin
and located at Eagle; enlisted as a private in company C, 5th Wisconsin Infantry,
and par-
ticipated in the battles of Lee's Mills, Williamsburg, Golden's Farm, Savage
Station, White
Oak Swamp, Malvern Hills, Crampton Cap, Antietam, Fredericksburg, in December,
and May, 1863; Gettysburg, Rappahannock Station, Wilderness, November, 1863,
and May,
1864; Spottsylvania Court House and Cold Harbor, June 1, 1864, where he was
wounded; has been county treasurer two years, chairman of board of supervisors
a num-
ber of times: was member of assembly in 1881: was elected state senator in
1884. receiving
3,314 votes against 3,154 votes for J. D. McDonald, democrat, and 298 for
George McKerrow,
                                Eleventh ,District.
  Ashland, Clark, Lincoln, Price, Sawyer, Taylor and Wood counties. Population,
  MERRITT CLARKE RING (Rep.). of Neillsville, Clark county, was born in Milton,
  county. Wisconsin, October 30,1850; received an high-school education,
and graduated from
  the Wisconsin Law School in 1873; is by profession a lawyer; has always
lived in the state,
  at Cooksville, Rock county, until 1856, from 1857 to 1874, at Sparta, and
since that time at
  Neillsville; has never held office before; was elected to the state senate
in 1884 to fill vacancy
  caused by the resignation of C. M. Webb, receiving 6,793 votes against
6,520 for John Ed-
  wards, democrat.
                                 Twelfth District.
                   Green and La Fayette counties. Population, 42,007.
   JAMES SEYMOUR WADDINGTON (Rep.), of Argyle, La Fayette county, was born
 Chautauqua county, New York, November 12,1831; came to Wisconsin in 1841
and settled at
 Wiota, La Fayette county, where he remained until 1844, when he removed
to Belvidere,
 Ills., returning to Wisconsin in 1848 and settling at Argyle, where he has
since resided; re-
 ceived a common school education; is a merchant; has held various local
positions and was
 county judge from January 1878 to January 1882; was elected state senator
in 1884, receiving
 5,099 votes against 4,121 votes for Edward Ruegger, democrat and 372 votes
for D. R. Grover,
                               Thirteenth District.
                           Dodge county. Population, 45,928.
   BENJAMIN F. SHERMAN (Dem.), of Beaver Dam, was born at Ann Arbor, Mich.,
 vember 30, 1836; received a common school education; is a printer and publisher
by occu-
 pation; is one of the proprietors of the Beaver Dam Argus; came to Wisconsin
in 1857,
 settling at Beaver Dam; was member of assembly in 1880; chairman of county
board of
 supervisors in 1880, '81, '82, '83 and '84; was elected state senator in
1882, receiving 3,611 votes
 against 2,999 for George Schott, independent democrat, and 87 for John Dunn,
                               Fourteenth District.
                     Juneau and Sauk counties. Population, 44,309.
   DAVID B. HULBURT (Rep.), of Loganville, Sauk county, was born in Portland,
   tauqua county, New York, December 8, 1829; received an academic education
and grad-
   uated from the normal school department; is a farmer and surveyor; came
to Wisconsin

Go up to Top of Page