University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Hove, Arthur (ed.) / Wisconsin alumnus
Volume 62, Number 15 (July 1961)

Outstanding teachers receive honors,   p. 4

Page 4

Outstanding Teachers
         Receive Honors
    University of Wisconsin teachers
have received $1,000 memorial awards
for excellence in teaching. The award
winners were nominated by their depart-
ments and selected by a special faculty
committee headed by Professor C. H.
Sorum of the chemistry department.
They are:
  Dr. Reginald Horsman, assistant pro-
fessor of history at UW-Milwaukee and
Dr. Robert Tabachnick, assistant profes-
sor of education who received the an-
nual William H. Kiekhofer Memorial
Teaching Award; and Dr. Richard A.
Greiner, associate professor of mechani-
cal engineering who was presented with
the third annual Emil H. Steiger Me-
morial Teaching Award.
  The Kiekhofer Awards, established in
1953, have gone to 14 other young fac-
President Elvehjem with outstanding teach-
ers Dr. Reginald Horsman (seated right),
Dr. Richard A. Greiner (standing left),
and Dr. Robert Tabachnick (standing
ulty members, only one of whom has
left the University. They are a "living
memorial" honoring the beloved UW
economics teacher, Professor William H.
"Wild Bill" Kiekhofer. The Steiger
Award was first given in 1959 by Regent
President Carl E. Steiger and his sister,
Mrs. Sophia S. Roth, Oshkosh, as a
memorial for their father, the late Emil
H. Steiger.
  Professor Horsman, 29, received his
B.A. and M.A. degrees from Birming-
ham University, England, in 1952 and
1955, and his Ph.D. from the Univer-
sity of Indiana in 1958. In 1958-59 he
was an instructor in history at UW-M
and has been an assistant professor of
history since 1959.
  Professor Tabachnick, 32, received his
B.A. from Syracuse University in 1950,
his M.A. from Teachers College, Co-
lumbia University, in 1951, and his
Ed.D. from Stanford in 1958. He came
to the University in 1959 as an assistant
professor of education. He is chairman
of the elementary area staff committee
and director of the elementary intern-
ship program and is active in the state-
wide program of in-service training for
elementary teachers.
  Professor Greiner, 30, received his
Professor C. Harvey Sorum, of the chem-
istry department, is the 1961 winner of the
Benjamin Smith Reynolds Award which is
given annually for excellence in the teach-
ing of future engineers. Professor Sorum
(left) is shown with A. Matt Werner, She-
boygan, vice president of the Board of
Regents, who presented the award at the
annual Engineer's Day celebration.
B.S. and M.S. degrees in physics in 1954
and 1955 and his Ph.D. in electrical
engineering in 1957-all from Wiscon-
sin. He was an assistant professor in
electrical engineering from  1957   to
1960 when he was promoted to associ-
ate professor.
Winners of citations for distinguished service in journalism are congratulated
by Profes-
sor Ralph 0. Nafziger, director of the University of Wisconsin School of
Shown left to right are Professor Chilton R. Bush, executive head of the
Department of
Communication and Journalism at Stanford University; Miriam Ottenberg, investigative
reporter for the Washington Evening Star; Professor Nafziger, and Wallace
Meyer, Chi-
cago, chairman of the board of Reincke, Meyer and Finn.

Go up to Top of Page