University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Carter, Hilda R.; Jenswold, John R. / The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire: a history, 1916-1976

Chapter III: A cohesive society: students and faculty in the 1930s,   pp. 25-37 PDF (7.9 MB)

Page 35

Tufts University, for the year 1933-34 on the basis 
of a master's thesis on "The International Settle- 
ment of Greek Refugees: 1922-32," which he wrote 
at Northwestern University in the intervening year. 
Leonard Haas, who graduated in 1935, came from 
the small railroad city of Altoona contiguous with 
Eau Claire. Outstanding both scholastically and in 
forensics, he became a high school teacher of his- 
tory at Wausau upon graduation, and eventually 
moved into the field of teaching and administration 
in higher education, as did Richard Hibbard. 
A number of alumni of the 1930s became faculty 
members and administrators of institutions of high- 
er education, among them: Elizabeth Alcott, 
Wright City College, Chicago; Harold 0. Balke, 
Western Michigan University; Margaret Kessler 
Bridges, Mars Hill College, North Carolina; Wilbur 
B. Bridgman, the first graduate of Eau Claire to 
achieve the Ph.D., Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 
Massachusetts; Marcus Bruhn and Charles W. 
Emery, St. Cloud State College, Minnesota; Cecil 
0. Hahn, Southwest Texas State University, San 
Marcos; Howard Kolstad, St. Norbert College; 
Schuyler Otteson, Indiana University; LeRoy Pe- 
terson, Eastern Illinois; Helmer E. Sorenson, Okla- 
homa State; Warren Waterhouse, Bowling Green 
State University; and William Wrigglesworth, Gon- 
zaga University. Faculty members at UW-Eau 
Claire who were students there in the '30s included 
Ursula Schmidlin Emery, Ed Fish, Lester Gilbert- 
son, Robert Gunn, Norman Olson, Gilbert Tanner, 
and Frank Wrigglesworth. 
Many distinguished themselves in government 
service: Kathryn Miley Beatty, Gerald W. Bowers, 
Howard 0. Johnson, Raymond F. Love, Lessel 
Ramsey, in federal agencies; Burton D. Loken, Les- 
ter A. Loken, Arthur Padrutt, Lester Voigt, and 
Wilmer Waters, on the state scene; and Richard 
Gillett, Leonard Haas, Richard Hibbard, and Rob- 
ert Mills served as city councilmen in Eau Claire. 
Samuel G. Jones made a lifelong career of service as 
an officer in the Navy, and Vernon Ramberg in the 
Army. Robert Benish and Frank Snyder became 
geologists of note. Richard Hibbard and Wayland 
Waters served in the Department of State, and 
Loren Olson with the Atomic Energy Commission. 
Among those who had outstanding careers in 
business were Arthur Branstad, Harold Edson, 
Sanford Kruger, Walter J. McCoy, and Robert A. 
Powell. Many became lawyers, including James Ri- 
ley, regent, and Connor Hansen, Justice of the Su- 
preme Court of Wisconsin. Clarice Chase Dunn 
pursued her interests in writing, Clell Buzzell his in 
sports journalism, and Bowman Larson his talents 
for graphic design. 
Dr. Leonard Haas, Dr. Richard Hibbard, the 
Honorable Connor Hansen, Loren K. Olson, and 
Lester Voigt were honored with the Alumni Asso- 
ciation's Distinguished Alumni Service Award. 
The End of the Schofield Presidency: 
"Ivory Towers of Replenishment" 
An unknown poet contributed to the 1937 Peri- 
scope a tribute to the "faculty who have known the 
years of World War I and the postwar years": 
We, too, were a 'lost generation,' 
Beset with employment scarcity, 
Our niches filled. To our consternation 
We seemed a superfluity; 
Became chary of showing determination, 
Because of certain failure. You knew our need: 
Showed us wonder in living organisms; freed 
Our minds to new depths of appreciation 
Of Keats - beauty lover - and Shelley; 
Let us glimpse the surge of nations 
Fighting upward, and the rich, red embroideries 
Of the Renaissance. You gave ivory towers 
Of replenishment, to which, in hours 
Of turmoil, we could retire, wanting peace, 
And emerge, refreshed - defiant. 

Go up to Top of Page