University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Link to University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Collection

Page View

Murphy, Thomas H. (ed.) / Wisconsin alumnus
Vol. 75, Number 1 (Oct. 1973)

Alumni news,   pp. 21-25

Page 21

- Ahlimni
Weston '33            Mann '42
Lowen~stein '54       Conrad '63
The Oregon State Library, Salem, has
acquired "Where Rolls the Oregon, and
Other Poems", a volume of 40 poems by
the late Walter E. Bates, Sr. '00,
describing the beauties of that state.
The story in the Portland (Ore.)
Journal begins: "A $350,000 chapel at
Marylhurst College stands as a monument
to a retired teacher who never earned
more than $5,100 a year at her
profession." It relates how Julianne Roller
'08 was able to endow that sum through
"a combination of frugality, conservatism,
recklessness . . . and a kindly stock
market," beginning with meager savings
her widowed mother accumulated by
running a boarding house. The chapel
was dedicated in 1969, and last year,
during a campus festival, they dedicated
the new three-manual organ which, Miss
Roller writes, "I hadn't planned to buy,
but no one else volunteered." She had
to miss Alumni Weekend this year due to
minor injuries she sustained while
driving her car.
The Madison branch of the AAUW
recently honored Helen T. Parsons '16,
by giving this year's $1,400 fellowship
fund contribution in her name to the
national AAUW American Fellowship.
Dr. Parsons, Madison, has been a teacher
and researcher in nutrition and has
received several national awards.
Barry J. Anson '17, research professor of
otolaryngology and maxillofacial
surgery, College of Medicine, University
of Iowa, has co-authored a second edition
of "Surgical Anatomy of the
Temporal Bone and Ear."
John Slezak '23, retired chairman of the
board of the Kable Printing Company,
Mt. Morris, Ill., has been given the highest
award of the Department of Defense,
the Distinguished Public Service Medal,
for "exceptional and distinguished civilian
service" to the department as chairman
of its reserve forces policy
board from 1957 until the present.
Roger J. Soulen '27 is back home in West
Hartford, Conn., after two months'
volunteer service with the International
Executive Service Corps. He and his wife
went to Athens to advise a Greek ma-
chinery firm on sales and merchandising.
In May, Ralph J. Kraut '30, chairman of
the board of Giddings & Lewis, Inc.,
Fond du Lac, was elected to honorary
membership in the Society
of Manufacturing Engineers.
Quintin S. Lander '30, Fairfax County,
Va., has completed his second retirement
cycle by leaving his post for the past 14
years as director of guidance at the
J. E. B. Stuart High School. In 1959 he
retired as chief of the Attache Division
of the army after 30 years' service. He
will continue his interest in youth
as a college administrator.
William W. Cary '32, Milwaukee, retired
June 20 as secretary of the board of
trustees (public relations) at Northwestern
Mutual Life Insurance Co., after 40
years with the firm.
  W. B. Clement '32 has been elected
  treasurer of the newly formed Liberty
  Lobby Research, Education and Legal
  Defense Fund, Inc. He lives in
  Punta Gorda, Florida.
  Roy E. Weston '33, West Chester, Pa.,
  was the 1973 recipient of the National
  Society of Professional Engineers' Award
  for meritorious service to the profession.
  He was cited for "pioneer accomplish-
  ments in the fields of industrial wastewater
  and air pollution control ... long before
  pollution and ecology became
  household words."
Kenneth M. Brown '38, director of
treating services with UOP Process
Division of Universal Oil Products Co.,
Des Plaines, Ill., earned the award of
merit and a fellowship in the American
Society for Testing and Materials.
Robert H. Anderson '39, formerly with
Harvard's Graduate School of Educa-
tion, is the new professor and dean of
the College of Education at
Texas Tech University, Lubbock.
John H. Stephens '41 has been
assigned by Universal Oil Products
Co. as manager of the engineering
department of its subsidiary,
Nikki Universal Co., Tokyo.
JoAnn Goldberger Mann '42, past presi-
dent of the UW Women's Physical
Education Alumnae Association, has been
elected president of the Girl Scouts of
Milwaukee Area. Mrs. Mann is a phy ed
teacher at St. John Cathedral School there.
The new president of the Academy of
Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is
Walter Mirisch '42. He is president and
executive producer for Mirisch Produc-
tions, whose "In the Heat of the Night"
won the Academy Award in 1967.
Janet Zurheide Peter '46, Wauwatosa,
using the pen name Erica Carle, is selling
a book she has written called "The Hate
Factory" which, she says, "provides
answers to those who have been unable
to understand why many young people
seem to be satisfied with lower moral
standards than was formerly the case."
Harry P. Stoll '46, who has been with
Oscar Mayer's Los Angeles plant, is
now corporate credit manager
in the Madison office.
Gerald L. Baum MD '47 is now a full
professor of medicine at Case Western
Reserve University, Cleveland.
Charles W. Tomlinson '47 has left the
Olin Corporation to become vice president
of operations for Polymer
  Industries, Stamford, Conn.
  Robert F. Kelly '48, professor of meat
  science at Virginia Polytechnic Institute
  and University, Blacksburg, has won the
  26th annual Distinguished Teaching
  Award of the American Meat
  Science Association.
  C. B. Ashenfelter '49, formerly an
  administrative assistant with Milwaukee's
  Johnson Service Company, manufacturers
  of automatic temperature controls, will
  now administer its Canadian operations

Go up to Top of Page